Global Advisory Council

Prof. Mick Moore OBE – Institute for Development Studies, University of Sussex

Prof. Mick Moore is a political economist whose work focuses on understanding the dimensions of good and bad governance in lower-income countries in Africa and Asia. He is currently a senior fellow at the International Centre for Tax and Development (ICTD). He was awarded Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (OBE) in the New Year 2021 Honours List.

Dr. Mia Mikic – Advisor-at-Large, ARTNeT

Dr. Mia Mikic is a trade economist with a keen interest in sustainable development. She served as a Director, Trade, Investment and innovation Division in United Nations ESCAP. Prior to her UN tenure, she was Head of the Department of Economic Theory, Professor of International Economics and Director of Economic and Business International Program at the University of Zagreb.

Prof. Jaideep Prabhu – Judge Business School, University of Cambridge, UK

Prof. Jaideep Prabhu is Jawaharlal Nehru Professor of Indian Business & Enterprise and Director of the Centre for India & Global Business (CIGB). His research focuses on international business, marketing, strategy and innovation.. He has held positions at the Tanaka Business School, Imperial College London and the Anderson School of Management, UCLA

Dr. Indrajit Coomaraswamy – former Governor Central Bank of Sri Lanka

Dr. Indrajit Coomaraswamy has over 40 years of experience in policy making and providing economic advisory services, on both macroeconomic and structural issues at national and intergovernmental levels. Dr. Coomaraswamy served as the 14th Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka and received the Sri Lankan national honour of “Deshamanya” in 2019. He serves on several corporate boards. He was formerly the Head of Economic Affairs at the Commonwealth Secretariat in London.

Sunela Jayawardene – Environmental Architect 

Sunela Jayawardene is an environmental architect and designer whose primary design impulse is a concern for ecology and sustainability as well as a loyalty to vernacular architectural traditions. She designed Colombo’s first boutique hotel, Havelock Bungalow, as well as award winning buildings such as Vil Uyana for Jetwing Hotels and the Rainforest Lodge. 

Charles Cadwell – Fellow, Urban Institute

Charles Cadwell is an institute fellow for the Center on International Development and Governance at the Urban Institute.. He is an international development expert and lawyer with 30 years’ experience in economic reform, deregulation, research oversight, and nonprofit leadership in the US and developing countries. 

Dr. Jonathan Spencer – University of Edinburgh 

Dr. Jonathan Spencer is currently the Regius Professor of South Asian Language, Culture and Society at the University of Edinburgh. His  research looks at the history of dissent in Sri Lanka, and at the politics of access to the grid for poor communities in cities in Sri Lanka, India and Pakistan. 

Priyanthi Fernando – International Women’s Rights Action Watch – Asia Pacific

Priyanthi Fernando currently works for International Women’s Rights Action Watch- Asia Pacific. She was the Executive Director for the Centre for Poverty Analysis (CEPA). She has over 20 years of experience in the development sector as a communications and gender specialist. 


Global Advisory Council for the Colombo Urban Lab

Dr Barbara Lipietz – University College London, London, UK

Dr. Barbara Lipietz is Associate Professor at the Development Planning Unit (DPU) where she directs DPU’s MSc in Urban Development Planning and convenes the DPU Research Cluster on Urban Transformations. She is an interdisciplinary planner with a formal background in history and development studies. 

Dr. Gautam Bhan – Indian Institute for Human Settlements, India

Dr. Gautam Bhan teaches, researches and writes on the politics of urban poverty and inequality, urban and planning theory, housing, and identity and social practice. At IIHS, he has taught under several programmes, including the Urban Fellows Programme, the Urban Practitioners Programme and the PWP-UD.